Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast
    RoadBikeReview Member
    May 2006

Triple vs Compact (Which to get?)

I'm new to biking and I just bought my first road bike (previously had a mtb). My main reason for switching to a road bike was because I saw that it was easier to get up hills. With hills being my main concern I'm left wondering which is better to have: a triple or compact crankset?

All the online threads I've seen say triples are better for hills. The bike shop where I got my roadie from agreed to upgrade my crankset to a triple for no extra charge. Today, however, when I went in to pick up my bike they were trying to convince me to get a compact crankset. Saying that it was easier to use and I didn't have to worry about trimming. I know nothing about trimming but I do know that my mtb had a triple crankset and I had no problems shifting with it before. Are they just trying to save money? What are the reasons for getting a compact vs. a triple? Is there a difference when they are placed on a road bike versus a mtb?

I have this weekend to think about it. Next week I need to tell the shop whether to change my crankset to a compact or triple. Please help. Let me know what the pros and cons are. Thanks.

RoadBikeReview Member
    Feb 2004

do a search first...

This topic really has been beaten to death on this forum. A really fit rider wouldn't need either. I'm old and still never use anything lower than a 39/25 for hills. Until I was 47 I never used anything lower than a 39/21.

I imagine you're talking about a shimano drivetrain also. The certainly favors the compact, because shimano trimming of the front derailleur isn't much to brag about. With a 50/34 compact and 12-27 cassettes you can almost get most of the low gears of a triple, but not all since a 30T little ring is obviously 13% lower than a 34T.

RoadBikeReview Member
    Quote Originally Posted by C-40