RoadBikeReview Member
    Jan 2011

Upgrades to Older Cannondale Road Bike

First off I should say that I am very new to cycling, if I don't sound like I know what I talking about - I don't. With that said, I picked-up a 1987 Cannondale SR500 that was in pretty good shape and was looking to replace/upgrade some parts. The current bike specifications can be found at: http://sanaandterry.com/cannondale/year/1987/1987.pdf

What I am confused with was whether I could used more recent parts on this bike or if I should be looking for another "vintage" bike to part out. Parts in particular that I would like to replace are the chain and wheels (a little rusty). Any suggestions on replacement options? I would also be interested in any other suggestions.

Thanks in advance.

RoadBikeReview Member
    Sep 2010
    You'll need a basic 5/6/7/8 chain (something like a SRAM PC-870) and a chain tool (to remove the old chain and break the new one to the correct length). Any local bike shop should have both of those things.

What is "rusty" on your wheels? Unless they have been replaced with something junky, the rims and hubs are aluminum and the spokes are stainless. If there is surface rust on your cogs (rear gears) you should be fine to clean and lube them unless they are excessively worn. You shouldn't need to replace your wheels unless they are bent or cracked, the bearings are beyond repair, or the freewheel is shot and stuck on.

My guess is that if the chain is rusty, the whole bike could use a lube and tune. It'll be a good learning opportunity. If you don't have anything, pick up some appropriate lube while you are at the shop.

Paul

RoadBikeReview Member
    Jan 2011
    Thanks for the quick reply. I think the whole bike needs a good clean and lube. I figured this could be a bike I could work and learn on, but initially it may be a good idea to bring it to my local bike shop. Thanks again.

RoadBikeReview Member
    Sep 2010