Riding when I find time
    Aug 2009

Upgrading Old Standard Ultegra 9-speed for climbing -- Options?

I have a 2000 Lemond Zurich (I've had it for 3 years) with original Ultegra drivetrain. Standard 52-39 Crankset and 12-25 (9-speed) cassette. I'm still new to riding and would like to change out some of these parts to get a better climbing ratio for the mountains in CO. What are my options? Today a shop told me there is only one cassette possible with a 12-27 and I would have to get a now chain and for a compact crankset there is only one that would fit an Ultegra 9-speed (why is that important for a crank?). Can't I just swap out to a 105 compact crank or is my stuff too old to be upgraded easily? I'm going to see another shop tomorrow to see what they say. Thanks for any advice.

Cranky Old Bastard
    I don't know everything but can't see why you couldn't go with a 105 compact crank.
    As long as the BB shell is 68mm the external bearings would work. That would give you a 50/34 combo that would really help your climbing.

If you then added an 11-28 cassette your low gear would be 34-28 instead of 39-25; much better.

Amazon.com: SRAM PG950 9-Speed Cassette: Sports & Outdoors

"When you know absolutely nothing, anyone who knows 1% more than nothing sounds like an expert."

Burnum Upus Quadricepus
    Anything can be done if you throw enough money at it.

The 6500 crankset uses a different bottom bracket than the contemporary cranksets, like the 5700 series. Thus, it's not the "speeds" per se, but rather, the other stuff Shimano changed at the same time. So in addition to the crankset, you'll need to replace the bottom bracket.

The FD will need to be lowered since the smaller diameter chainrings will be further away from the FD's current position.