RoadBikeReview Member
    Jun 2013

Weird issue with Specialized Tarmac

I have a strange yet potentially catastrophic issue with my 2008 Specialized Tarmac. The other day I went in for a routine cable change, and the front der cable was fairly difficult to pull out of where it runs through the frame. I figure it was just dirty/gritty so I yanked on it and it came through. When I went to put a new cable in, it would NOT go through. It's as if there is something blocking it, it goes about half way through and then stops like its hitting a wall.
    I was a pro mechanic for 7yrs, so I generally know my way around a bike. But this one has me stumped, and worried. I took the BB out, and the aluminum shell goes all the way through - no access from there. I don't know what to do next.

Anyone heard of this happening before? Any ideas?

'brifter' is a lame word.
    Without seeing it in person it's not possible to say, but if i had to guess i'd say you pulled some grit/dirt into the internal liner when you pulled the cable through. It could be broken at this point, not allowing the new cable through. But...no way to know via the interwebs. How often do you clean your bike? How often do you ride in bad weather?
    i work for some bike racers...
    2013 Trek Madone 5.9 w/ '12 SRAM Red
    2010 Cervelo T1 sprint bike
    Ruger 10-22TD
    Smith&Wesson M&P 15-22
    Smith&Wesson M&P 9
    oh, those belong in another forum

RoadBikeReview Member
    Jun 2013
    I clean my bike often, but also ride a lot in the wet (live in Seattle). I'm guessing you are right, there is something in there blocking it. The question now is what to do about it. I even tried putting a super thin Allen wrench down there and gently tapping on it with a hammer and it won't budge at all.

RoadBikeReview Member

Weird issue with Specialized Tarmac