RoadBikeReview Member
    Aug 2012

Zero Setback Seatpost?

What are the advantages of a zero setback seatpost? Can these be used in place of a shorter stem?

Thanks, bylerjq
    Disregard women.
    Acquire bicycles.

RoadBikeReview Member
    Oct 2011
    Well, without being an expert, I would say no. You should place your saddle first than use a proper stem length. That's what I do, I just can't ride with a setback seatpost...

A wheelist
    Zero setback seatposts, like any seatpost, are to position you in the correct place relative to a vertical line projected up from the bottom bracket. They do this in conjunction with the seat tube angle. Top tube length, along with stem length, accounts for reach.
    Mike The Bike's home wheelbuilding info - dedicated to providing Newby wheelbuilder information and motivation.

I'm not cranky; I just have a violent reaction to stupid people.

RoadBikeReview Member
    Mar 2013
    Quote Originally Posted by bylerj1 View Post
    What are the advantages of a zero setback seatpost? Can these be used in place of a shorter stem?
    Yes and no. In theory you should position your saddle fore-aft first, and then your bars/stem. The problem with this theory is that there is no science based or evidence based method of fore-aft saddle positioning. The only real guideline out there (supported by basic geometry) is that the more forward you are, the less acute your hip angle will be when you bend down to reach the bars. So, if you have a lot of saddle-to-bar drop, it's not a bad idea to get more forward and use a zero-offset seatpost. But there may be advantages to being slightly forward even if you don't ride with a lot of drop.

Cumudgitude
    Quote Originally Posted by darkspeedworks View Post
    The problem with this theory is that there is no science based or evidence based method of fore-aft saddle positioning.
    Commence fitter flaming.
    If you only ride in nice weather you're missing a lot of fun.