RoadBikeReview Member

Building up a cyclocross wheel/tire arsenal - advice requested

So I'm planning on doing some cross racing this coming season, and while I have raced cross a few times before I have never put much thought or effort into my tire selection, i.e. I have pretty much run what ever I could get for free or cheap.

I have a number of clincher wheels available to me that I plan of using for myself as training and pit wheels, also as they are tubeless ready my wife might use them as tubeless race sets. In addition I plan on having at least one set of tubular race wheels with some race only tubular (these are the tires I would most like advice on).

I weigh about 178-180lbs (my weight makes me think that tubeless would be a bad choice for me). The wife is about 118 so I'm thinking that tubeless might work for her, she also tends to be light on equipment. We would be racing in the Norcal races which I have no experience terrain wise with having moved from North Carolina.

What I already have:

Challenge Grifo 32mm clinchers (I raced these a few times and liked them)
    Hutchinson Bulldogs Tubeless 34s - these would be the wife's
    Hutchinson Piranas Tubeless 34s - These are also the wife's tho she never rode them.
    Ritchey Speed Maxes 30mm - there were my training tires and prolly will still be.

I have access to excellent prices on the Challenge line of tires so I'm inclined to stay with that line for the tubulars. I have Grifo clinchers and they seem to have a rep as a good all around tire but would the Fangos be better for the Norcal courses and if I got a second set would the Grigo XS be the right choice? Also should I stick to the 32 width? Not that it matters (or maybe it does) for wheelsets I have a set of Mavic GP4 (32 hole) on Dura Ace hubs and am considering either build another set of tubbies or buying the Williams alloy set.

Sorry for the long post but advice is appreciated.

Not Banned

yes build tubulars