RoadBikeReview Member
    Oct 2009

Fuji Cross Pro or Cannondale CX9 (or GT CX)?

Hi. I am an older newbie that can use some help choosing a cyclocross bike. I having been riding to work out and commute on the road with a very heavy full suspension bike -- it's killing me. So I am about to buy a cyclocross that I will use for the same uses, plus maybe ride with a road club every once in a while. I will probably never do a cyclocross race due to a bad lower back (why I originally bought the full suspension), but in case this is a bad idea, I am also trying to take resale value into account along with a ride my back can handle. These three new 2009 "leftovers" are about $1100-$1200 -- any advice is really appreciated:

* Fuji Cross Pro Cyclocross (Shimano Ultegra)
    * Cannondale Cyclocross 5 aka "CX9" (Shimano 105)
    * GT GTR Type CX (SRAM Rival)

Once again, thank you in advance.

RoadBikeReview Member
    Aug 2006
    If you have back problems, I'd shy away from the Fuji. The head tubes on those are much smaller than the rest. Cannondales also have a good resale value.

RoadBikeReview Member
    Jun 2008
    Just go wih the cx 9 and be done with it. It will have the tallest head tube of them all, which makes a very back friendly bike. The ride is not plush in the back, so think bigger tires. A michelin pro 25c pumped to 90-100 psi will be nice. Plus, all the fender mounts you need are there.

RoadBikeReview Member
    Sep 2008
    well i was going to put in my vote for the cross pro, (cause I have one ) but if you have a bad back I'd look to the cannondale.

out of curiosity though, what's going on with the back? accident?

RoadBikeReview Member
    Oct 2009