Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
    FTR
    Burn baby, burn.

Rim brake wheel and canti recommendations for a complete noob.

Looking at building up a CX bike soon.
    I have a full SRAM Red groupset plus bars, stem, seatpost etc but know I will need to get wheels and Canti's (dont want discs).
    Looking at the Chinese FM058 frame.
    What would you recommend for these items??

RoadBikeReview Member
    Sep 2007
    Shimano CX70 brakes. Velocity A23 rims (now comes in off-center extrusion for rear wheel).

RoadBikeReview Member
    Are you going to race it? Commute on it? Do singletrack on it? That will help. Pretender's suggestions are good ones. I have no experience for the newer Shimano cantis. The A23s are solid if you are going clincher.

Idiot at large
    Apr 2010
    Shimano CX70's aren't bad... (since I have them on my cross)

WHeels? I went tubeless, so I went with Stan's Notubes Alpha 400 rims with Shimano 105 hubs
    2010 Specialized Secteur Elite upgraded with 32T cassette and does not have Stan's (yet)
    2009 Specialized Rockhopper Comp 29er upgraded with 36T cassette and Stan's Arch EX rims and tubeless. Considering a 1x10 upgrade
    2013 Cannondale CAADX-6 Tiagra upgraded to 32T cassette and Stan's Alpha 400 rims and tubeless
    2008/2009 Burton T6 156cm with Burton Triad Bindings & DC Judge boots

FTR
    Burn baby, burn.
    Good point Ted
    Yes I would want to run tubeless so I guess that the Alpha400's would be the best choice.

Kris, it will be more a gravel road bike with a bit of singletrack for fun.
    We dont have a lot of racing in Queensland, Australia and when we do it is more riding around on a football field than what I equate CX racing with.

RoadBikeReview Member
    Sep 2007