Road Bike, Cycling Forums banner

IT band pain after Century

8K views 18 replies 15 participants last post by  the sarge 
#1 ·
Rode the Wildflower Century this past weekend in Chico, CA
Have very sore IT band on one side near my knee---but the knee itself is fine. I was fitted recently and they raised my seat a good bit---that could be the issue but wonder if others have any insight

#2 ·
get a foam roller- my IT band tightens all the time since i started riding. roller is the best albeit a very painful way to work it out

#3 ·
thedago is spot on.

Now I use the firmer “black roller” rather than the “white” version and roll on our tile floor (more resistance) in a slow movement pattern up and down from hip to knee at center line (full body weight i.e., leg over leg while resting on elbow) then make similar passes on the front and back of leg. I’ll also do calves as well as will align the roller from head to butt and splay out over my back working my length of spine to upper back side to side as a recovery method.

The key is working slowly up to using all your body weight concentrated in a slow process up and down the IT Band…stopping and holding inch to inch now and then. At first practice I found just the white roller on carpet to be extremely painful until I began breaking up the scar tissue (years of overworked tissue without proper recovery). Now my IT Band, sheathing and surrounding muscle tissue is pain free and more supple...noticeably fresh and youthful if you will.

Rolling became addictive for me after a period of time finding that type of deep massage therapeutic for my recovery cycling and/or any sporting or exercise activity. An absolute must for me now post activity (along with modified Yoga practice). It certainly helped me improve my pedal stroke and ability to maintain a powerful position longer without pain in aero position. Good luck with your 100's.

#4 ·
I have two things for my IT band problems.
1) The Stick