Road Bike, Cycling Forums banner

Just simply hitting the wall...cannot get to a century no matter what I do. HELP!

12K views 53 replies 27 participants last post by  skinewmexico 
#1 · (Edited)
I've had to stop riding with friends because they are now pushing the rides longer and longer and I just can't muster the effort most of the time...or, if I do, I seriously pay for it.

Ok...so since I've asked such a complex question, let me give what I know.

-I've been riding road since 2012, can muster 30-40 miles well, can seriously-struggle to 50 or a 100K and have peaked out at 75 miles...which almost killed me.

-I normally ride 2500-3000 miles/year. Summer is often a 20mi/20mi/30-40mi/10mi week for me (this would be a perfect week). Two 20mi sessions M-F, "long" on Sat, short "recovery" on Sunday. Again, I can go longer than 40mi...but it is a miserable experience for me to do so.

-37 year old male, 170lbs, max HR in the 190's (this is a possible key point).

-I eat well on rides, stay hydrated, I know this is important. When I ride, I do not consume caffeine.

I stated riding with a Garmin 500 and HR monitor last summer and I think I'm beginning to see what my problem is...the problem is, I do not know how to fix it as nothing seems to be working.

I believe my heart rate may be the issue.

No matter what I do...I seem to spend all of my time in Z3...no matter what. My average is almost always in the very high 150's, low 160's.

I did a nice, 37 mile ride a few weeks back. 15.6mph pace (which is unremarkable at best), 2:22:54 time...average HR 153 with 1:32:50 of the ride being in Z3.

Another, 50mi ride was again, a very lackluster 15.2mph pace, 3:19:42 time, HR average of 156 and 2: 17:22 in Z3.