Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
    RoadBikeReview Member

New Felt Z100 - My First 8 Miles

As of Thursday my debate was between the Trek 1.2, MotoBecane Record (online) or the Felt Z100. All 3 are entry level bikes .... I know ... But I am totally new to road bikes and have been riding my Haro V3 Hard tail with slicks on the road regularly to stay in shape for MTB rides. I had ask for some opinions in the Beginners forum, but did not get much response. But I had ridden a few bikes in this range and really liked everything about the Felt.

I bit the bullet yesterday and went for the 2008 Felt Z100. The Shop had no 2009's but this '08 was $100 less and I like the '08 colors better. The new 2009 colors just did not look as nice IMO.

Overall, I think I got a decent deal. No steal, but got out the door for $650 (MSRP was $679). Component group is Sora - I know ... entry level, but good enough for my needs. Ramping on the chain rings is a bit slow going up, but it just needs some adjustment I think.

Here are some pics. First one is from the Felt Site, Next 2 are of mine:
    Attached Thumbnails Attached Thumbnails New Felt Z100 - My First 8 Miles-felt-z100-web-pic.jpg   New Felt Z100 - My First 8 Miles-sm1.jpg   New Felt Z100 - My First 8 Miles-sm2.jpg  
    Last edited by MRM1; 02-14-2009 at 04:43 PM.

RoadBikeReview Member

First Ride

So took the Felt out this morning for the first time. It was Cloudy and Windy with light Mist Rain. I have a little 8 mile ride I do 3 or 4 times a week right now and had been riding this on my Haro V3 MTB for the past 2 months.

WOW ! - Overall the Felt Z100 ride was night and day difference from the Haro V3. Even though the Haro has a decent front shock, but the ride seemed to bet me less on the Felt. My hands did not get sore and my overall ride was much more enjoyable.