dropped!

Battle! Jamis Sonik vs. Felt TK2

these 2 are about the same price, and are essentially, their respective companies offering at a mid-priced track bike.

for racing, which do you prefer?

btw, the jamis sonik i am looking at is an 08 model, the 09 jumped up in price a few 100 quid...

jamis: http://www.jamisbikes.com/usa/archiv...k_archive.html

felt: http://www.feltracing.com/09-catalog...es/09-tk2.aspx

vexatious enigma
    Personally I would go with the Felt tk2. This is pretty much bassed off of the looks since it apears that the componentry is about the same on each bike.
    Quote Originally Posted by JoeDaddio
    Unlike Roebuck, you do "do" people.
    Maybe Judas did it for a Klondike bar.

Life in the fast lane with no brakes

RoadBikeReview Member
    Jul 2008
    FWIW....I have no ride experience on either, but eyed the Felt down pretty good in a LBS and it looks seriously stiff.

If this is for competition, it looks like it can stand up to some wattage. If you are using it for a road type fixed gear....you may want to test one out if possible.

Just a thought...... it is a nice looking bike and may be worth a the rough ride.

vexatious enigma
    Oh yeah, I haven't ridden either of these bikes. I'm pretty much just saying this from what I can tell of the sight.

If your looking for a street bike then I would go with a different frame. The allumanum is going to be a bit of a rough ride even with the carbon fork.

dropped!
    yes, it's strictly for racing and possibly a road ride every now and again. so stiffness if key- and ride quality isn't really a concern.

RoadBikeReview Member
    Feb 2006

tk2

i have the tk2 and am very happy with it. never rode the jamis though.

note, i have mavic ellipse wheels on it. i heard the stock felt wheels are crap.

RoadBikeReview Member
    Feb 2008
    I've seen the Sonik and it is truly beautiful.
    But, I'm not sure it would be a good road bike, too stiff, made for the velodrome.