RoadBikeReview Member
    May 2013

Buffalo N.Y. to Chicago I.L. (Ride For Alex)

Alex Hemline was a 17 year old senior at my school. (Clarence High School, Clarence, NY) He was a classmate and friend. He recently passed away. In memory of him, I'm trying to put together a fundraiser for his family. I will be riding solo, fixed gear, from Buffalo N.Y, To Chicago I.L. (over 500 miles) I've never done a ride this big before, but i know i can do it. I plan to get there in 3-4 days. I just kind of want some sort of guidance from anyone who has any sort of experience riding long distances. Anyone, with anything to say, would be helpful.
    Thanks,
    Johnny.

RoadBikeReview Member
    Nov 2010
    i applaud your efforts on behalf of your friend...

i am old & not very fast so i do a lot of distance riding, all of it on my fixed bike, to make me feel like i am accomplishing something. i do a metric weekly, an imperial about 1x/mo & an occasional ultra(?) distance ride. a couple months ago i shot for 300 mi in 24 hrs, unsupported. i figured at a moderate 15 mph it left me 4 hrs of rest along the way to get the ride done in a day. sorry to admit that i bonked at 250 mi. i did not have a single drop of energy left & so it ended.

will you have help? unless you plan on multiple cogs (or rings), your 1st concern should be getting your gearing right. after you have that handled, you need to plan for hydration, nutrition & rest.

whether to do your 500 mi over 3 or 4 days is a big difference, so you need to make a decision there.

i'm sure there are other considerations but my my last suggestion is to get started training - now. in fact...i am going to give my 300 mi ride another try, in the summer no less, so i am really piling on the miles right now myself.

have fun & good luck...

Cumudgitude