Thread: Lockring tool

Re-Cyclist

Lockring tool

What is the correct Park Tool spanner wrench for use on fixed gear hub lockrings? I've seen a few offered, and don't want to order the wrong one.
    Santa Barbara, CA -- My Photo Site -- My Business Site

Mevadus
    Last edited by Mevadus; 04-03-2011 at 12:55 PM.

Re-Cyclist
    Thanks!

vexatious enigma
    Quote Originally Posted by Mevadus
    Yup yup. The HCW-5 will also get the job done (it is what Ive been using for a couple years and is usually stocked at the average LBS) but the 17 the right tool. I didn't even know that the HCW-17 existed and will be ordering it.
    Quote Originally Posted by JoeDaddio
    Unlike Roebuck, you do "do" people.
    Maybe Judas did it for a Klondike bar.

Life in the fast lane with no brakes

Re-Cyclist
    Got the tool and it works fine. The problem I had today, wanting to change my rear cog, was that with a 1/8 x 1/2 chain whip tool around the cog, the thickness of the chain plates prevented the spanner tool from fully engaging the lockring, enough mismatch so that I wouldn't try to use both tools simultaneously. Fortunately, I was able to loosen a tight ring with only the Park spanner, then use the chain whip to loosen the cog.

RoadBikeReview Member
    Nov 2010
    glad to hear you got it done...
    but what made you think that you need to use the chainwhip & lockring tool at the same time?

vexatious enigma
    Quote Originally Posted by markaitch
    glad to hear you got it done...
    but what made you think that you need to use the chainwhip & lockring tool at the same time?
    Yeah, you don't need both. You only need to be using one at a time.

RoadBikeReview Member