RoadBikeReview Member
    Jul 2008

Specialized Langster Vs. Kona Paddy Wagon; Advice?

Hello all, Long time lurker first time poster here!

I'm sure this topic has been beaten to death on some forum's but I wanted to get y'alls take/ advice.

I have been looking at getting a Fixed/SS for a few months now and have long had my sights on a a Kona Paddy Wagon. Before we go any further let me give you some background...

I am a college student living in Fort Worth, Texas. I am not "new" to cycling in that I owned/ rode/ loved a Specialized hardrock for 4 years but times have changed for me and I decided to sell my mountain bike. After not having a bike for a while I got the itch (you guys know how it is) and waltzed on down to my local bike shop. I went in thinking I would look at a giant OCR or maybe a Specialized Allez (silly me, looking at geared bikes) but when I told the salesman what I wanted out of a road bike he pointed me in the direction of a 54cm Kona Paddy wagon with the famous "flip-flop" hub. He explained to me that SS/Fixed are all the rage and that I should take it for a spin. Sure enough I was in love. It was fast, quick, nimble, and pretty good looking with a moderate price tag of $650 before tax (I'm a poor college student, remember?)

Well a few months have passed and I still have the fever, I want a single speed, and I one one now! And I have the money to do it this time (got to love disposable income). While doing a little more research on fixed/SS I ran across a certain Specialized Langster. I have always been very brand loyal to Specialized so I thought I might take a closer look. I decided that I liked the Kona better, mainly due the steel frame and slightly lower price tag, but there is one catch.