Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
    RoadBikeReview Member

Would someone perhaps help this noobie out? BB Problem

Forewarning: I'm completely new to bikes.

I found a really old geared Free Spirit on the street. It was completely useless. Part of the rims were eaten by rust, the grips literally cracked off by touch, flat tires, etc etc. My friend told me it'd be cheap to convert it into a fixie, and I did as much research a noob could do, and I'm almost positive I still don't know the half of it - call me ignorant for diving into this project without completely knowing the know.

I took apart the bike entirely, sanded and repainted the frame, determined what I needed and didn't need, as well as ordering myself some new parts while trying to keep within a reasonable budget. I ordered rims that came with hubs and a 16 T cog + tubes, a crankset (160mm as I am not that tall), a bottom bracket, and 1/8 chains. My tires, grips, and pedals didn't come in yet, and I'll get a brake system for the front later. I'm pretty sure I'm missing something? I've watched some videos on installing the bottom bracket, and I've noticed most frames had threads where they install their bottom bracket, and mine, well, it isn't the same (at least I don't think so). Can someone fill me in on as to what I'm needing to install the bottom bracket? Pardon my lack of knowledge

I just finished putting spokes on one rim I'll do the other and attempt to true it a little later, so don't mind those :P

I also kept a somewhat photo journey on "Instagram" if anyone wants to pointlessly view it, but feel free to ignore, or point out any misdoings..

Note that I'm too cheap for powder coating.
    Last edited by pavena; 11-11-2012 at 07:05 PM. Reason: Specifying problem in title

RoadBikeReview Member
    Hi, that's awesome! While you did not know much about working on a bike before you started on your project you will after you get done :-)