RoadBikeReview Member
    Apr 2009

2009 Trek 2.3, Tarmac Comp, or 2008 Cervelo Team Soloist

Looking to purchase my first bike to get involved in the cycling sport. I went to several LBSs today and my brain HURTS!!! From reading many threads on this site, I was looking to purchase a bike with minimum 105 components. I rode a 09 Trek 2.3 ($1600), Spec Tarmac Comp ($2400), and a Spec Roubaix ($1800). I preferred the first two bikes over the Roubaix. I have no experience whatsoever in this sport and can't wait to get involved. But with no experience, I can be honest and say I didn't feel much difference in the 2.3 and the Tarmac. I had great experiences in both LBSs so I couldn't even use that to sway me one way or the other.

Also, I called another LBS that was a little farther today and found out that they had a 08 Cervelo Team Soloist for $1600. I looked online and those had the Ultegra components. So, another piece to my puzzle.

To the layman, the Cervelo looks to be the one to choose, although I have yet to ride it.
    Just looking for some advice from those involved in this sport. It's giving me and my wallet a headache! At least with running, I just put on socks and shoes and run out the door!!!

RoadBikeReview Member
    Aug 2003
    Tarmac should be comfier than the 2.3 or Soloist. In theory, more carbon means better shock absorption, all else being equal.

That said, the Soloist is probably the fastest and most well-regarded of the three and is also the one that you can later save for a dedicated criterium bike when you eventually get a more advanced road racer. If you want a good value in an all-rounder take a look at a Fuji Team at your local Performance store as well.

Make sure whatever you buy fits you right. That's much more relevant than what the stickers say.

Unlabeled
    Quote Originally Posted by GreenBike
    Looking to purchase my first bike to get involved in the cycling sport.