RoadBikeReview Member
    Feb 2010

2010 Specialized Allez vs. 2009 Fuji Newest 2.0

Hey All,
    I'm new to these parts and this is my first post. My names Jeff and I'm a 6 foot tall, 288 pound (130kg) cycling newbie. I'm 31 years old, married and I'm the father of two, soon to be three children. Money is very tight and buying a bike may not be the best idea for us but I have to do something for my health that will help me lose weight and will keep my attention. I've been trying bikes at three local bike stores and I the first thing I can tell you is that I did not like the Trek bikes in my price range so they are out. They just weren't comfortable. Tonight I tried a 2010 Specialized Allez which featured Shimano 2300 components for $679.00 and a 2009 Fuji Newest 2.0 outfitted with Sora/Tiagra for $739.00. Both of them were 58cm bikes and both of them are within the amount of money I'm able to spend from my tax return without risking my wife having a stroke.

Things I liked about the Fuji:

- Very padded, comfortable saddle.
    - Slightly more relaxed riding position.
    - Felt a little more stable when pedaling while standing vs. the Specialized.

Things I disliked about the Fuji:

- Shifting felt sloppy.
    - Components felt cheap despite being sora/tiagra.

Things I liked about the Specialized:

- Faster acceleration.
    - Lighter.
    - Shifting was light and crisp despite having Shimano 2300 vs. the Sora/Tiagra of the Fuji.
    - Handling was responsive and exciting.

Things I disliked about the Specialized:

- The saddle, while still relatively comfortable, was noticeably less so than the Fuji.

With regards to the sloppier feel of the shifting on the Fuji, I should point out that the store clerk said that the shifting was off after examining the bike. Unfortunately, I had to leave before I could re-test it. I am returning on Saturday to re-test both of these bikes.