RoadBikeReview Member
    Jul 2016

Anyone in CT want to help w a build?

I have a new S-works Astana frame with DA 9000 group. I think I have everything for the build.
    My local shop wants a reasonable $250 or so to build it up.
    They want $500 for me to be part of it.
    I really just want to build it myself but need some hand-holding.
    It's been a long time since I worked in a shop.
    If here is anyone in the Madison, Ct area that would assist me in a complete build I'd make it worth your time.
    I don't begrudge their pricing but I just want to build it myself - with help.
    $500 seems steep to me. I've built bikes but a long time ago. A few hours...?
    Dennis
    Dennismcohan@comcast.net.

RoadBikeReview Member
    Nov 2009
    it's easy, just start by going for it. ask some questions here.

RoadBikeReview Member
    That's actually $250 for the build and $250 for the lessons... not $500 for a co-build. I'd pull up the shimano instructions and start. See how far you get and then go back to the internet for those answers.

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
    The internet is a little like a bar, a wonderful place where we can bullsh(t our past, but it also, is full of reasonably reliable sources of information to be used as ammo to call "bullish)t."

RoadBikeReview Member
    Dec 2006
    PM me if Meriden isn't too far for you.

RoadBikeReview Member
    Oct 2014
    Modern groupsets are easy to install and set up. The only gotchas are going to be cable routing and any frame/cable adapters you might need. Hopefully your frame came with all of the goodies. Cutting the steerer and possibly BB adapters are 'interesting' as well. These need to be done correctly, or disaster awaits. Just take your time and be careful. Stop and ponder anything you aren't sure about.

I'm sure if you get stuck, you could post a few pictures here and someone will be able to help you figure it out.