Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
    RoadBikeReview Member
    May 2013

Best White Tape Cleaner

I am new to this sport and recently bought a 2011 Specialized Dolce Sport Compact. The white tape was a small drawback as to keeping it clean, but Oh well. I figured I would cross that bridge when I came to it. It's been a few weeks now the the tape is looking pretty grubby.

Suggestions as to what works the best? I am considering getting gloves/mitts too.

Weed
    Lemon Pledge works pretty well.

RoadBikeReview Member
    Replacing it with black works best.

RoadBikeReview Member
    Nov 2008
    Quote Originally Posted by pulser955 View Post
    That was my first thought but you beat me to it. Wouldn't lemon Pledge make the tape slippery when wet? I ended up replacing all my tape with black because I found the effort to not be worth it. I tried all kinds of cleaners but none I would recommend. I use cork too so that may be harder to clean.

Gloves will not keep the tape clean. They get dirty too.
    Embrace the fact that everyone on these forums has their own unique desires, needs, experiences and environment so what works for you may not work for others.

Fecal indicator
    I use the Fizik MicroTek white tape and scrub it with dish soap or abrasive cleanser when it starts to look dingy. looks brand new afterwards.

the only thing that hasn't right come off is some black dye from a new pair of gloves that I used before washing them.
    eff all y'all...

RoadBikeReview Member
    May 2013
    Thanks for all of the replies. Believe it or not, I got it fairly clean using hand soap and a small (kinda) abrasive scouring pad and a damp cloth. Then wiped it dry. Eventually I will probably get it re-wrapped. I am leaning to the Fizik Honey Brown. I think it will look better than black.

Best White Tape Cleaner-img_2211.jpg