RoadBikeReview Member
    Mar 2012

cannondale R600 (2003)

Good morning,
    Was trying to get some feedback from you all as I am new to cycling. I was thinking of buying a 2003, 60 cm Cannondale R600 with upgraded Ultegra components and new tires (bike has been well maintained). I am 190 lbs and 6'0. It includes a comp as well to calculate distance. I just have to buy my own pedals for it.

Any thoughts on whether $500 is a good price for this and if this bike is a good fit for me? Thanks so much

RoadBikeReview Member
    Aug 2010
    What wheels are on it? Is the whole drivetrain Ultegra? If the chain and cassette are relatively new (<500 niles) and the wheels are nice and in good shape, that's probably a fair price. One word of caution- I rode an R300 from that same era, also 60cm, and it was almost too big for me. I'm 6'3" with a long torso, so at 6'0" you should probably take it for a little test ride if possible to be sure you aren't going to be uncomfortable on a frame that large. If you are, look at 58s.

RoadBikeReview Member
    Mar 2012
    dan thanks for the response...i am 6'0 but have longer legs, so thats why i am optimistic this frame will be suitable for me. but its a good deal?

RoadBikeReview Member
    Aug 2010
    I would say that it is a good deal, with the caveat I made about the components being fully ultegra and with life left in them. Someone correct me if I'm wrong, but upgrading that bike to Ultegra basically makes it the equivalent of an R1000 from that era (same frame, different groupset), and those things go for well more than $500 on ebay-
    2002 CANONDALE R1000 SHIMANO ULTEGRA KSYRIUM ELITE MAVIC OPTIMO CAT EYE ROADBIKE | eBay

RoadBikeReview Member
    Dec 2011
    I'm just over 6', close to 6'1" with about a 34" inseam. I rode a 58cm R700 for a number of years and it was perfect for me.

Oh - in terms of a deal, I think it's a great one!

RoadBikeReview Member
    Aug 2010