Thread: Cycling lights

RoadBikeReview Member
    Jul 2013

Cycling lights

Hi everyone !

I am a beginner in cycling, but have been biking my whole life ! ( bmx)

I am now trying to get into cycling. Living in new york city, I cycle in the night time, but need lights!

I'm looking into these right now :

Bicycle Super Bright LED Safety Light Over 100 Hours | eBay

is this a good deal ?

RoadBikeReview Member
    Look at magicshine and dinotte, those little things are pointless. Also get some superbright reflective tape for sides of your bike, I suppose one of those little lights would be good on your helmet, but the bike needs proper lights.

RoadBikeReview Member
    Jun 2012
    Product Page
    Better price as found in Hot Deals!

Burnum Upus Quadricepus
    It depends.

Do you want to buy a price? Or do you want to buy a light that will give you fighting chance in NYC traffic?

If you want to buy a price, respro found you a good price.

If you want to buy a light that will give you a fighting chance in NYC traffic, see Alfonsina's advice.

I live, work, and ride in the city. From May to mid-August is the only time of year I don't need a light. What I've found is that you want respect from traffic, you need respectable lights. Avoid the toys.

RoadBikeReview Member
    Lights can serve two functions, conspicuity and path illumination. Flashing is best for conspicuity (and constant lights help with showing position and speed). In much of NYC you can rely on ambient illumination to light the path (road), but there are places/paths where you do need a good headlight. The faster you ride the brighter the headlight needed. 100-200 lumens might be OK for putting along at 10-12 mph (and good for conspicuity if flashing), but for anything over that 500 or more is needed. The shape of the beam (how that light is distributed) is also a factor to consider.

Here are some beam shots to give you a relative idea: Bicycle Light Comparison Guide - ModernBIKE.com