Thread: D2 Shoe Review

RoadBikeReview Member
    Aug 2008

D2 Shoe Review

Today my new shoes arrived. But let me back up.

Since I started riding again at the end of April, I've had numb toes, pain in the feet, burning sensation, etc. I've tried on over a dozen different brands of shoe and nothing fit even close to right. I went to all the local shops too. I finally gave up and called D2. http://www.d2customfootwear.com/

They seemed confident that they could make shoes to fit. So ok, here we go. Fill out the form and give them a credit card number (this was Monday morning). The fit kit arrived on Thursday. That was quick. I went to see my bike fitter to do the fit kit and make a few adjustments to my bike. Using the supplied stuff, he made a tracing of each foot and took some key measurements. Then pressed each foot into it's own crush box to make an imprint of the bottom of my feet. I boxed it up and sent it back.

A week later I get a phone call from D2. Turns out my feet are a full metric size apart, I'm slightly bow-legged, and one foot is rather oddly shaped. This explains my trouble finding shoes that fit. They tell me that they can use 2 of their regular lasts as they are really good matches for my feet. So we go over other details like riding style, bike, etc. He says I could have them in hand in as little as two weeks. Here's hoping!

2 weeks from that call is tomorrow. Today the shoes arrived! Less than 4 weeks from when I initiated the process. I immediately mounted my cleats and went out for a ride. It's hot out, 107 today. Anyway, 28 miles later my feet still feel pretty good. There are a couple of spots that are off a bit and I think they'll settle out as the orthotic breaks in. If not, D2 said to send 'em back and they'll fix it.