Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
    RoadBikeReview Member
    May 2004

Fear Of Going Downhill

I am fairly new to road biking. For some reason I am deathly afraid of riding down hills. I get up to about 18 mph and I start squeezing my brakes to slow down. I'll do this the whole way down the hill. When I am on flat spots or going up hill I can pedal much faster than 18 mph and I have no problem. It's just flying down hill that freaks me out. I have a bike that fits me well and I feel very comfortable on it. I have the same problem when I mountain bike. Does anyone have any suggestions for me? Thanks.

GIMME MY BIKE!
    It's just something you have to let go of. I have a teammate that's very timid on the downhills. If you know someone that is not, ask them to go down a few hills with you. It might help if you ride behind them, try to keep up, and watch how they do it. It sounds really stupid, but try screaming "Wheeeeee!" when you descend. Make it fun like it used to be when you were a kid!

Mostly though, you just have to have some balls and just do it. ;)

Honestly, hills don't even start to get scary (I mean, fun!) until you pass 40 mph, in my opinion.

RoadBikeReview Member

Good Point

Quote Originally Posted by bobg
    I am fairly new to road biking. For some reason I am deathly afraid of riding down hills. I get up to about 18 mph and I start squeezing my brakes to slow down. I'll do this the whole way down the hill. When I am on flat spots or going up hill I can pedal much faster than 18 mph and I have no problem. It's just flying down hill that freaks me out. I have a bike that fits me well and I feel very comfortable on it. I have the same problem when I mountain bike. Does anyone have any suggestions for me? Thanks.
    This guy has a real good point. I have the same problem, but it all stems from when I hit about 40 mph downhill. The handlebars started to shimmy quite a bit and the only thought in my mind was what it would feel like jumping out of my car at 40.