RoadBikeReview Member
    May 2013

Question Fixed Gear: Buffalo NY to Chicago Il (Ride For Alex)

I will be riding solo, fixed gear, from Buffalo N.Y, To Chicago I.L. (over 500 miles) I've never done a ride this big before, but i know i can do it. I plan to get there within 5-7 days I just kind of want some sort of guidance from anyone who has any sort of experience riding long distances. Anyone, with anything to say, would be helpful.
    Thanks,
    Johnny.

A friend of mine recently passed away. In memory of him, I'm trying to put together a fundraiser for his family.
    Last edited by Johnny Gowen; 01-11-2014 at 02:05 PM.

RoadBikeReview Member
    How big a ride have you done? Using reasonably bike-friendly roads between those cities, the distance will be closer to 600 miles than 500, so even in 4 days it's more than 140 miles a day -- a big challenge on a multi-geared bike with a light load. On a fixed gear, carrying supplies (or do you have a support driver?) it's huge, for anyone but a very experienced long distance rider. I know there are no mountains on that route, but there will be wind, and at times you'll be very over-geared.

This might be doable, but not without a lot of planning and some support, and very probably not in that time frame -- 7 or 8 days would still be a challenge.

By the way, it's not considered good forum etiquette to post the same question in multiple sub-forums, and it reduces the usefulness of the answers, because people may respond in one place not knowing what someone has already posted in another.
    Eppur si muove.

RoadBikeReview Member
    Dec 2013

riding to Chicago

Quote Originally Posted by Johnny Gowen View Post