RoadBikeReview Member
    Jul 2012

Good ride in/near edison nj

Hey everyone I'm new to Nj and looking for some riding advice. looking for some good 30-50 mile rides. hills would be great and don't mind if I need to ride <10 miles to get to the location.

I can only ride in the late afternoon or evening even on weekends.

RoadBikeReview Member
    Nov 2005
    I'm in Somerset. Edison area is a bit congested but if you come up to Franklin area, there are a lot of good country roads such as Canal Rd that go into Hillsborough all the way out to French town and Lambertville.

RoadBikeReview Member
    Jan 2005
    Quote Originally Posted by sdkwan View Post
    I'm in Somerset. Edison area is a bit congested but if you come up to Franklin area, there are a lot of good country roads such as Canal Rd that go into Hillsborough all the way out to French town and Lambertville.
    That area, and around the Rutgers campus. The Piscataway campus area around the RAC, and through the park along the river is a good place to build some strength. After doing that for a while, I started driving out to Hunterdon County to ride, and shortly after that joined a couple of bike clubs. I really don't recommend riding your bike in the Edison area. I lived there for about 20 years, and there is just too much traffic.

Study the amazingly helpful njbikemap.com to find the best roads for cycling. Enjoy!

RoadBikeReview Member
    Jul 2012
    thanks I'll look into those places.

RoadBikeReview Member
    Aug 2012
    I am in the Westfield area, and after you get out of the immediate congestion of RT 22, there is some great riding up on the other side of the Watchung Reservation, stretching out into Somerset county out towards Bridgewater and such (on the other side of 78). Probably a bit far of a direct ride for you, but definitely worth checking out if you can manage to get out that way.

RoadBikeReview Member
    Jul 2012