Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Thread: Got hit today.

RoadBikeReview Member
    Sep 2012

Got hit today.

Got hit from behind today. First time since I've been riding for 5 years. Driver of the car never checked up, never hit the brakes. Nothing I could really do but watch from the ditch I was laying in, as they drove over the rise in the road.

Dialed 911 because I really didn't know how serious I was. Sheriff arrived and advised me to take the ambulance to hospital. He said in case they are able to track down who did it, a trip to the hospital would kind of add to the seriousness of the accident. I was reluctant, as I didn't want to deal with the huge bill I know I have coming my way...but oh well.

Turns out no broken bones, only some rash down my right side from being knocked into the gravel ditch. It must have been just a graze from the car, since it through me to the side.

Kit is toast, back wheel is pretzled, not sure about the rest of the bike. Haven't had the chance to look it over. I'm guessing the back wheel caught the right side of the front bumper, and maybe I caught the side of the car or maybe the rear view mirror. It all happened so fast. Definitely has me rattled mentally.
    Last edited by Cartoscro; 04-29-2017 at 03:57 PM.

Fecal indicator
    you have my sympathies....that's exactly how my last incident occurred...hit from behind in a dedicated bike lane, driver left the scene. sustained a separated shoulder, broken thumb, concussion, road rash...

driver was never identified, filed a claim with my auto ins under the uninsured motorist clause.

8 months later, still dealing with orthopedic surgeons, physical therapists, and a chiropractor.

took a long time to feel comfortable on the bike after I resumed riding...felt like every person on the road was trying to kill me. altho most of the anxiety has passed...still doesn't mean that there's not a segment of the driving public that will take a rider out and not give a crap about the consequences...