Page 1 of 4 123 ... LastLast
    RoadBikeReview Member

Helmet makers should also push mirrors

I've been using a cycling mirror for over 30 years, and interesting I don't see more riders using them, especially on group rides.

You wouldn't think of driving your car without a rear-view mirrow, so why not on a bicycle. It's a vehicle, and your on the street with traffic. Once you've used one, you won't go back.

I even use the mirror when I time trial! I'm only racing against myself, so what's the diff!

Here are some pics of my old glasses mount mirror adapted to my helmet.
    Attached Thumbnails Attached Thumbnails Helmet makers should also push mirrors-adapted-helmut-mirror.jpg  
    My 1996 Miata is my other "road bike"

Sluggo
    Yeah, good luck with that. I'm not disagreeing with you. In fact, I use that very same mirror on my glasses. Wouldn't think of leaving home without them. What I am saying is that if you think resistance to wearing a helmet is high, just add that a mirror comes along as a bonus. Sales will nose dive.

RoadBikeReview Member
    I always ride with a mirror on my helmet. It allows me to see if there are any cars coming before I go around junk that's on the road. I'm not as inventive as you are. I have a mirror that is velcroed to my helmet.
    While we are free to choose our actions, we are not free to choose the consequences of our actions. - Stephen R. Covey.

Master debator.
    I would, but I generally am used to turning my head. Been doing it on the cycle and bicycle my whole life, checking the blind spot before I move over. FWIW I am usually better at holding a straight line when I look back, many people swerve.
    I'm not against a mirror, I would advocate anything that makes the ride safer, I just would not feel like I could rely on it without still turning my head which would make it a moot point.
    "I felt bad because I couldn't wheelie; until I met a man with no bicycle"

RoadBikeReview Member
    Apr 2003