scruffy nerf herder

Roller Shock....a bike frame material mystery...

Im not a scientist, nor do I play one on tv, but help me figure something out. I have two bikes, one I typically put on my trainer, and I use one on my older CycleOps rollers. I just started my base and only had one bike in the basement, so I was riding my steel framed Lemond. Nothing special, Conti 3000s, carbon fork. I was riding that bike on my rollers without incident.

However, I put my LOOK carbon bike (ksyriums, Rubino Pros) and ride on there, you would think I am on some type of electric generator, cause when I get off the bike, I get one HELLUVA static discharge.

Is this normal, is there anything I can do, and what causes that difference? How come the static conducts differently from one bike to the other. I would think the steel one would have been the one more subject, but thats DEFINITELY not the case...
    Last edited by funknuggets; 12-07-2004 at 07:37 AM.
    so sayeth the funk....

Chris

----------------------------------------------------------------------------
    "The RBR Lounge. You won't ever find a more wretched hive of scum and villany. We must be cautious."

RoadBikeReview Member
    Feb 2004

stay grounded..

A simple way to eliminate static discharge is to stay grounded. Unless you've repeated this process on the same day with both bikes, to insure the same humidity level, it's hard to blame the frame material, but that could be the culprit if you remain ungrounded on the carbon bike.

I ride my LOOK carbon frames on a trainer and never had that problem, but I'm in the basement on concrete, not on carpet.

Electronics assembly is usually done in rooms with grounded, electrically conductive floor tile to eliminate static discharges that can fry sensitive electronics. Assemblers often wear grounded wrist bands while sitting at assembly benches.
    Last edited by C-40; 12-07-2004 at 07:57 AM.

RoadBikeReview Member
    Mar 2004