Hitch mounted bike racks

Printable View

• 06-20-2012
    PoorCyclist
    Hitch mounted bike racks
    I am new to SUV's and towing hitch in general..

If I get a bike rack, I think it's Saris that makes a really good one that mounts to the tow hitch, it seems obvious that I cannot open the hatch if I want to put another bike inside the cabin...

How much work does it take to remove the rack so the hatch can open?
  • 06-20-2012
    tlg
    Quote:

Originally Posted by PoorCyclist View Post
    I am new to SUV's and towing hitch in general..

If I get a bike rack, I think it's Saris that makes a really good one that mounts to the tow hitch, it seems obvious that I cannot open the hatch if I want to put another bike inside the cabin...

How much work does it take to remove the rack so the hatch can open?

Some hitch racks can fold down or swing to the side. Some also have extenders and sit farther away from your vehicle so you can open your hatch.

Removing a hitch rack isn't really a big deal. It's just one pin.
  • 06-20-2012
    JCavilia
    What he said. Technically, the rack is not mounted to a hitch, but to a "receiver," a square tube that is bolted or welded to the car frame, and into which a hitch can be attached. Attaching a bike rack involves sliding the rack's pipe into the receiver and tightening a bolt. To remove, unthread and remove bolt, and slide the pipe out.

Saris, Thule and several other companies make good ones. The fold-down feature is handy if you're going to be doing a lot of loading and unloading.
  • 06-20-2012
    tlg
    Quote:

Originally Posted by JCavilia View Post
    Attaching a bike rack involves sliding the rack's pipe into the receiver and tightening a bolt. To remove, unthread and remove bolt, and slide the pipe out.

Even faster if you use a hitch pin. ANd more secure if you get a locking hitch pin.
    https://encrypted-tbn1.google.com/im...kNVGNn3TH4YG4G
  • 06-20-2012
    JCavilia
    Quote: