RoadBikeReview Member
    Jun 2017

How do you account for unscripted riding sessions?

Hi all,

I'm giving some thought to my training schedule for the year. Most training plans are pretty formal with well scripted workouts, like a 60 min ride with 3x9 over/unders. I'm a scientist and that sort of thing appeals to me but I'm not a robot, or even a super serious racer. I'm having trouble adapting such plans to my preferred riding.

For example, my club has a weekly race series on Thursday evenings. It varies from crits to road races to TTs but they're usually 35-65 minutes at heart rates at LT or a little over. How would I integrate those?

Or what if I want to go ride my MTB for fun for 90 minutes? Intensity varies greatly on the hilly MTB rides around my neck of the woods. How would that count towards my plan?

This will just be my second year of serious riding so I'm still trying to work these kinds of things out. I'm hoping some of you have run into this and can provide some advice.

T.

RoadBikeReview Member
    Dec 2005
    Quote Originally Posted by Thomas10 View Post
    Hi all,

I'm giving some thought to my training schedule for the year. Most training plans are pretty formal with well scripted workouts, like a 60 min ride with 3x9 over/unders. I'm a scientist and that sort of thing appeals to me but I'm not a robot, or even a super serious racer. I'm having trouble adapting such plans to my preferred riding.

For example, my club has a weekly race series on Thursday evenings. It varies from crits to road races to TTs but they're usually 35-65 minutes at heart rates at LT or a little over. How would I integrate those?

Or what if I want to go ride my MTB for fun for 90 minutes? Intensity varies greatly on the hilly MTB rides around my neck of the woods. How would that count towards my plan?