Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast
    RoadBikeReview Member
    Sep 2011

How often should I wash my bike shorts?? and gloves??

Hey Everyone,

I'm new to cycling and have 3 pairs of bike shorts. Is it ok to use them more than once before washing for short rides?? 10-20 mile rides

Also wondering how often I should wash my gloves... I'm riding 80-100 miles a week and wash them once a week

don't know if there are infection or bacteria issues that I should be worrying about

I'm cleaning out my bike once a week

Thanks

RoadBikeReview Member
    Quote Originally Posted by DirtySanchez View Post
    Hey Everyone,

I'm new to cycling and have 3 pairs of bike shorts. Is it ok to use them more than once before washing for short rides?? 10-20 mile rides

Also wondering how often I should wash my gloves... I'm riding 80-100 miles a week and wash them once a week

don't know if there are infection or bacteria issues that I should be worrying about

I'm cleaning out my bike once a week

Thanks
    Young people with thick skin might cheat a few times, but I can't risk it anymore. If I don't keep my chamois clean, I'll get pimples in places that'll put a crimp in my cycling regimen.

So I wash the shorts out after every ride, summer or winter. Amazing how much dirt comes out of them in the water after only a 15 or 20 mile ride! I just throw em in the sink and let em soak while I take a shower. Drip dry. Takes another five minutes. I always have clean shorts for the next ride.

Also wash headsweats and skull caps every ride. Dirty ones give me dandruff.

Gloves? Meh. When they start to smell funky. Sure, about 80-100 miles. Bike clean and chain lube 100-150 miles, depending on what kind of weather it went through.

RoadBikeReview Member