RoadBikeReview Member
    Mar 2017

I need your opinion

I am a college student doing a project trying to make cycling on the roads safer by integrating a removable GPS system onto the bike to alert vehicles when they are coming within close proximity to the bike so bikers will not get hit by cars. So, where do you think the best place to put a small GPS sensor on a bike? I am thinking under the frame in front of the seat. What do you guys think?

Huge in Japan
    You intend to have a cyclist's GPS warn a vehicle driver that they are too close to the cyclist (how ever the hell that's going to happen)? Then put the GPS under the saddle where the cyclist cannot use it?

Seriously?
    Interwebs bumpersticker goes here

RoadBikeReview Member
    Jul 2007
    Quote Originally Posted by nathanjantzen97 View Post
    I am a college student doing a project trying to make cycling on the roads safer by integrating a removable GPS system onto the bike to alert vehicles when they are coming within close proximity to the bike so bikers will not get hit by cars. So, where do you think the best place to put a small GPS sensor on a bike? I am thinking under the frame in front of the seat. What do you guys think?
    The question lacks critical information, making it difficult to answer.

1. The GPS on the bike will "alert vehicles", so it will alert the car, so you're talking about the GPS interfacing with the vehicle's collision avoidance system?

2. The GPS on the bike will alert the driver of the vehicle in some way? How? Visually? Audibly?

3. You're mounting a "small GPS sensor" on the bike. A GPS, by definition, "senses" the location of the unit. Does the "sensor" detect anything other than location? If yes, what?

Note that many cyclists already carry GPS units, usually either on their handlebars or in their pockets. And a great number of the rest, who don't have GPS units, carry smart phones which have a GPS function. So, I'm not sure what you're adding here.