RoadBikeReview Member
    Feb 2005

Question Incredible road trip ahead and I need your help.

Fellas'

Hello. I first need to announce that Im a rookie in this road biking culture.....but only for a short time. Three friends and I are currently mapping out a long bike tour that would begin outside of Panama City, Panama and ride us on up to San Diego, California. This enduring expedition will give us time to pass through the many diverse cultures throughout Central America and visit our fellow volunteers in the Peace Corps. Intense it will be and we could really use some advice from the many experienced riders out there. The four of us are in our mid 20s and remain in very good shape. Two are runners and two of us are mountain bikers yet we know little about road bikes and the quality to purchase for such a long trip.

Please provide me with any helpful tips. Our dedication to the sport of road biking has begun and I am pumped!!!

RoadBikeReview Member
    Sep 2003

small advice

Quote Originally Posted by Cheddy Ray
    Fellas'

Hello. I first need to announce that Im a rookie in this road biking culture.....but only for a short time. Three friends and I are currently mapping out a long bike tour that would begin outside of Panama City, Panama and ride us on up to San Diego, California. This enduring expedition will give us time to pass through the many diverse cultures throughout Central America and visit our fellow volunteers in the Peace Corps. Intense it will be and we could really use some advice from the many experienced riders out there. The four of us are in our mid 20s and remain in very good shape. Two are runners and two of us are mountain bikers yet we know little about road bikes and the quality to purchase for such a long trip.

Please provide me with any helpful tips. Our dedication to the sport of road biking has begun and I am pumped!!!
    Be competent in your bike repairs. Learn spanish.

Life Coach

Beyond the Bike