Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
    RoadBikeReview Member
    Jun 2008

Key West cycling experience = suicide

So I'm in Key West for the rest of the month with my boss. Apparently, everyone uses bikes to get around here, so that's what we're doing. He's been coming here for 20 years; it's my first time. At first I thought that it was really cool that Key West was such a cycling friendly place and was looking forward to getting a chance to ride while I'm here. So I went over to the bike rental place and I rented a hybrid bike, figuring that a road bike is not very practical for in-town riding. I also bought a helmet.

"What do you need a helmet for?" my boss asked? Uh... to protect my head, maybe??? I would have thought this was common sense. It turns out I'm the only person here wearing a helmet.

Things only went downhill from there and after the first day, I was convinced that riding a bike in this town is courting death or serious injury.

First of all, my boss is just about the worst, most unsafe "cyclist" I have ever had the misfortune of riding with. I could not believe it!!! He was riding very erratically. He was going the wrong way down one-ways, riding against traffic on two-ways, riding on the sidewalks, running red lights and stop signs without even pausing to look, failing to signal his turns. Two nights ago he nearly got run over by a van making a right turn because he neglected to look behind him.

In fact, he never pays any attention to his surroundings. Cars have to honk at him to get his attenton so that he'll move out of the center of the road. Today he almost got flattened by a semi-truck. "I had the right of way!" he said, as if that justifies not paying attention. Yeah... right, but dead.