RoadBikeReview Member
    Nov 2013

"Nasal Filter" for Fall Cycling Runny Noses?

I typically love this time of year in Wisconsin where the temperature and humidity drop a bit to make rides much more comfortable. However, I don't like it that my nose runs off my face (almost literally). I'm not sure if it's allergies, the cooler weather, or both, but it makes riding somewhat miserable some times.

For those of you who experience the same thing, what do you do to keep your nose in-check? Have any of you ever tried a "nasal filter", like from Rhinix.com?

I'm curious about them... a drug-free way to pre-filter air coming into your nose. I guess if it's the cold that's causing my running nose, then this nasal filter won't help. But it if is allergies, the filter would be an interesting solution!

"Nasal Filter" for Fall Cycling Runny Noses?-93275_web.jpg

RoadBikeReview Member
    Jun 2014
    I am by no means an expert. And I can't answer for you or your experience. However, my runny nose quotient is controlled by the temp, humidity and airflow volume / effort.

My nose definitely runs less in the summer, but if it is humid enough and I am working hard enough, it definitely starts to go.

RoadBikeReview Member
    I too am no expert, but in cooler temps my nose runs a lot. My fix is the perpetual snot rock, just check that no one is with in distance and then let it fly.... don't need gimmicks
    Last edited by ROAD&DIRT; 09-11-2017 at 12:04 PM.
    "I refuse to be afraid of tomorrow, for I have seen yesterday & I love today!!"

"There are only two ways to establish competitive advantage: do things better than others or do them differently."

"Ability may get you to the top, but it takes character to keep you there."

2009 SCOTT Speedster w/Ultegra 6800
    2007 IRONHORSE HT

RoadBikeReview Member
    Oct 2013
    "pre-filter"????? There is no filter, it might catch something big, allergy items are very small.