Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast
    Crash Test Dummy
    Aug 2012

National Ride your Bike to Work Day 5/17

I live 20 miles from work, so daily commutes are not possible as I have to wear a suit and there is no shower at my office. However, this Friday is National Ride to Work Day. WE have casual Fridays so Was thinking about getting an early start and riding. Anyone else have a long trip like that and going to ride this Friday to work?

pmf
    RoadBikeReview Member
    Feb 2004
    Where are you located?

Its a pretty big deal in the DC area. I used to avoid it because of all the idiots who clogged up the bike path for their annual ride to work. Over the last few years, I've come to embrace it. Maybe I'm getting old and soft. I even got my first t-shirt last year.

I've been riding from Vienna to DC for over 20 years. It's a 17 mile ride each way. You can ride 20 miles each way on Friday. I wear a suit and tie at work every day, but I have a shower and place in my office to keep clothes. You should bring some clothes in tomorrow and ride in on Friday. It's not going to be hot out in the AM. Take a shower before you leave, and wear clean shorts and jersey. Maybe have some wipes and a towel at work. You can always wet your hair in the bathroom. Perhaps you'll like it so much that you decide to do it every Friday this summer. It sure beats the hell out of taking the train or driving. At least in this rat race.

There's a guy here on this board who rides to work everyday and doesn't have a shower available. It can be done.

fu
    My office is 4 miles from my house and I'm planning to ride to work on Friday.
    My other chainring is a 39...
    Strava profile

Dr. Buzz Killington
    I'm debating it. Work is only 11 miles away, but I have to be at work by 6AM and won't leave until 645PM.

tlg
    RoadBikeReview Member
    Quote Originally Posted by wannaXbe View Post