Thread: Neck pain

RoadBikeReview Member
    Jul 2012

Neck pain

i started riding in May, and yesterday i did 50 miles as part of an event. i survived the ride, but when i got home- my neck was really tight giving me a crazy headache. Is the neck pain because I'm not conditioned for 50 miles or my position on the bike? i normally do 25-30 miles on a ride..so 50 was almost double what i normally would...just looking for thoughts or ideas so it doesnt happen again.

RoadBikeReview Member
    Jul 2011
    could be both.

I'd look at a few things before insinuating the proper cause though, First off, would be to have your bike fitted, Retul is supposed to be the best out there. Its expensive, but I hear its worth the money.

Or, you could tinker on the bike yourself, and try to see what it causing the pain... see, positioning is the number one thing that could negatively affect your comfort, stem length, angle, seatpost height, handlebar angle, the location of your brake hoods.... these all play a part. So, if you in fact are carrying too much of your weight up front, your upperbody is overworking some muscles, and a fit would deduce this, and grant you the ability to make an educated guess on what changes have to be made.

RoadBikeReview Member
    Nov 2010
    one mistake that some beginning cyclists make is that they put too much pressure on their hands. then they let their shoulders relax which pushes them up towards their ears. this will cause the issues you describe. Concentrate on keeping your shoulders downand forward

Darling of The Lounge
    I believe you might be right on both counts. Pushing yourself more miles than normal along with position on the bike. Are you using traditional drop bars? If so, where are your hands the majority of the time?

My advice is to start experimenting with stem height in terms of raising it a little. Also start working on longer rides to a point where 50 miles becomes more routine.

RoadBikeReview Member
    Jan 2005