Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Need help fast!

RoadBikeReview Member
    Nov 2017

Need help fast!

Hi Folks,
    Can you help an old man? Going on 72 and about to buy my first (and last) road bike. I'm new to biking and not sure if this is a good idea or not. Performance Bikes has a sale on the following:
    2016 Kestrel RT1000 flat bar carbon road bike Sham.105, tektro brakes,
    $1350.00
    2016 Kestrel RT1000 flat bar carbon, Ultegra, $1700.00
    It's brand new in a box, I'm told.

What do you think? I'm not familiar with the store or the bikes. Any thoughts would be welcome. I have to decide by Friday morning.
    Thank you in advance for your wisdom.
    Jazzchip

Road Warrior
    First, I’m not familiar with the bikes or the bike store so no comments there. However,, save yourself a lot of time and trouble by going to a reputable local bike store, tell them what you’re looking for/type of bike/purpose/history and find a bike that matches your purposes and have the bike adjusted to fit your physical characteristics.. You’ll be a lot happier and save money in the long run..

See if you can find a local bike cub and ask them for store recommendations

Jno
    RoadBikeReview Member
    Mar 2016
    I was in a similar situation. I saw a bike that seemed to me to be a good deal (well-reviewed, well-equipped, good price) and I felt pressure to buy it. Luckily, I missed the chance, because I have since learned that some bikes suit a person and their intended use better than others. The balance between comfort and power transfer, the gearing, even the aesthetics of a bike matter. Test ride the Kestrel and compare it to some other bike so you begin to see if you like it. And my advice is, don’t rush the decision for Friday; bike “deals” come and go surprisingly often.

RoadBikeReview Member
    May 2010
    What type of riding do you want to do?