Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
    RoadBikeReview Member
    May 2017

Newbie Building Bike from Scratch - Check My List?

I bought my first road bike almost a year ago and it was just a cheap starter road bike (Merax Finiss). Despite making several smaller upgrades and riding it more and more, I'm not completely happy with it and want something lighter with higher quality components. Instead of buying something off the shelf, I decided I want to build my own bike and because I'm a newbie I'll probably have to take it to the bike shop for a couple things. Anyways, if you guys could look at my parts list, that would be awesome. I'm pretty sure everything is compatible, but I could be wrong.

https://www.amazon.com/gp/registry/w.../21XR6PUYK5PDC

By far the hardest thing to find was the frame. I'm completely fine with aluminum frames, but it was hard to find something that looked nice, had a good fork, was aerodynamic and had a good color scheme in the $200-400 range. Any higher in price and carbon fiber seems like a better option. If you have any recommendations I'd really like to hear them because the frame is what's really driving the total cost up. I don't want anything larger than 50cm and I think I'd be okay with anything down to 46cm since I can always increase the seatpost height and stem length. I'm 5'5" 170lbs.

I went with an 11/42T cassette because it's pretty hilly where I live and I'd like the extra range. I went with a standard crankset instead of a compact because I want it to be easier to pedal at 25+mph.

If you have any other questions about the parts I picked please let me know.
    Last edited by Avvakening; 3 Weeks Ago at 02:58 PM.

RoadBikeReview Member
    Nov 2009
    L b s

RoadBikeReview Member
    Oct 2013
    You should focus on spinning, you will then not be able to spinout a 50/11. At 35mph, why pedal?
    BANNED

RoadBikeReview Member
    May 2017
    ?????