View Poll Results: Do you use Orthotics?

Voters
60. You may not vote on this poll
  • I use and like Orthotics

33 55.00%
  • I don't have Orthotics

22 36.67%
  • WTF is an Orthotic?

5 8.33%
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Orthotics?

RoadBikeReview Member
    Aug 2011

Orthotics?

Hi All,

A few years ago I had a knee issue and it was suggested to me that I use custom orthotics in my cycling shoes. I've been using them for a few years and ride a lot with them. It's time to replace my shoes and I'm wondering if I really need these things or not. I ride my Mtn bike without them. I need to buy a bigger shoe so I am deciding if I want to keep em. What are your thoughts on them and if you're using them please let me know your feelings on em.

Thanks!

RoadBikeReview Member
    Type II Diabetic here with 3 toes on my left foot due to iinfection and surgery back in 2003. I use orthotics and find that they ease alot of rubbing and chafing that I would otherwise suffer without them. They keep my foot from moving around inside the shoe. I also needed to buy bigger shoes but it is a fair trade for me.

FTR
    Burn baby, burn.
    Not custom but I do use e-Soles in my shoes at the recommendation of Steve Hogg.

RoadBikeReview Member
    Jul 2011
    I've been wearing custom orthotics for 10 years. I wear the same size shoe with or without them.

I transfer them to whichever shoes I'm wearing.

RoadBikeReview Member
    Dec 2005
    e-soles for me as well. I have a super high arch that was deforming when I pedal which was helping cause some problems. The new e-soles have a system that allows you to change the shape and height of the arch to better fit them to your foot. Very impressed with them so far. MSRP is around $50 USD.

Iohannes fac totum
    Mar 2008