RoadBikeReview Member
    Aug 2013

Pearl Izumi Quest Shorts

Hi All,

I am very new to the cycling world but have become much more active in the sport recently. I bought a pair of size M and L(due to indecision) Pearl Izumi Quest shorts. I was wondering how padded cycling shorts should fit. My waist is 33" and the Mediums seems to fit up to the naval without a lot of flap in the back side. Oddly enough the Larges also fit well but are almost above the naval and have some flap on the lower back. Should it just jump out at me which one is the right fit or am I missing something? I checked the PI website and I most likely fall under the Medium range but I wanted to see if I could get some actionable intel on this thread. They both seem fairly comfortable.

Thanks!
    Jeremy

RoadBikeReview Member
    I would recommend returning the shorts and getting bibs instead.

RoadBikeReview Member
    You need to try bibs. Trust me. This is from a guy who some time ago did 2+ years on a hybrid, in shorts. I implore you to take the above advice and get a pair of PI bibs instead... get both sizes and you'll know which works best. The bibs will ensure that your shorts never ride up, never ride down, your pad will be firmly in place... it's really a good "secure" feeling. Do it.

RoadBikeReview Member
    Sep 2010
    Quote Originally Posted by Jgold34 View Post
    I wanted to see if I could get some actionable intel on this thread...
    Roger, that.

By "flap" do you mean loose fabric on your six? That's normal but, keep in mind, good quality cycling gear is designed to fit while mounted. Any standing eval is irrelevant.

I have the same shorts and a 33 waist. Medium works fine and provides sufficient cover to mitigate any plumber's crack whether I'm wearing a standard workout shirt or long-tailed bike jersey. If you feel exposed flesh with the Med, then Large is the call.

RoadBikeReview Member