RoadBikeReview Member
    Jan 2011

Pike's Peak Ascent

I'm looking for some advice from those of you who have ascended Pike's Peak. It's always been on my list to do. I'm just getting started on planning and I'm looking at July of next year. I think I'll be starting off in Manitou Springs. Any and all advice is welcome, please be as specific as you can. (equipment, clothing, gearing, where to get water, need for money, cool stuff to see/do, etc.). Thanks.

RoadBikeReview Member
    Oct 2013
    Bring rain gear and long gloves. I am planning on doing it one day, I guess it is paved now.
    BANNED

RoadBikeReview Member
    Nov 2009
    Is it true that bicycles are allowed on the road one day per year?

Cycling Addict
    Nov 2013
    Quote Originally Posted by factory feel View Post
    Is it true that bicycles are allowed on the road one day per year?
    No, not any more.

Cycling Pikes Peak Highway - Colorado Springs Vacation & Tourism Information | Colorado Springs, Colorado
    Life is short... enjoy the ride.

Descender
    Oct 2005
    Did it back in 2014. A few things to consider.
    - Drink plenty of water on your way up. The higher the altitude the quicker you dehydrate. Plus CoSprings is a mountain desert environement anyway. If you are not used to the elevation and climate hydration is key.
    - The temps at the top are generally about 30 degrees cooler than in Manitou Springs. You should bring a cool weather jacket for the descent - I wrapped mine around my waist for the ride up - used it for about half the way down. Also long fingered gloves and arm and leg warmers are wise.
    - In the high mountains foul weather can come on quickly - July should not be too bad but you may encounter quck rain shower. Usually they pass through but you may want to schedule a couple of alternate days just in case the weather is supposed to be bad on your first day. You can trust the local weather reports.