Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
    RoadBikeReview Member

Proof the French make the best framesets. . .

Brilliant technical video about some manufacturers and their quality short comings.
    Time kills it with their quality. Likely why my BB30 has never made a sound. Spech and Cannondale are crap

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=zryhuHkbb-o

RoadBikeReview Member
    Dec 2006
    I'm not an engineer, but I don't think the video's data justifies the guy's views.

We don't know WHAT'S ACCEPTABLE regarding all those tolerances. For all I know, the range in error could still be within the ability of the bottom bracket to function correctly.

RoadBikeReview Member
    Better proof

Rene Herse
    Proof the French make the best framesets. . .-herse.jpg

Alex Singer
    Proof the French make the best framesets. . .-singer.jpg
    Too old to ride plastic

RoadBikeReview Member
    Apr 2013
    ditto. i don't get that from this video at all.

Adorable Furry Hombre
    Quote Originally Posted by Peter P. View Post
    I'm not an engineer, but I don't think the video's data justifies the guy's views.

We don't know WHAT'S ACCEPTABLE regarding all those tolerances. For all I know, the range in error could still be within the ability of the bottom bracket to function correctly.
    Yup. And go figure, he didn't show us his measuring tools with which he churned out his data. Measuring 0.01mm like his slides how is the resolution limit of consumer digital calipers....curious what he was using to measure 0.1 degree.That being said...given the box/whisker plot the samples he had there was a definite variation in measured tolerance.

Of course the whole thing is easily solved...by just not using pressfit bearings. A fool "solution" to save frame makers money.....which given the number of RMAs due to creak probably didn't.

BB30's tolerances are here:

Speedone - Official Site - BB30 - New BB Industrial Standard

Can't find an easy schematic with tolerance for PF30 ATM.