Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast
    Dangrfield
    Jan 2014

Saddles. Something everyone should know.

So I'm in my mid 50's and I've been cycling on and off all my life since I was 7 years old.
    Recently I picked up a Trek 5900 SuperLight with full DuraAce. An oldie but in very nice condition. Really a great bike, light, fast and versatile.
    I tweaked the fit and started piling on the miles mixed with interval sessions until I was riding around 200 miles per week on mixed terrain.
    I hooked up with a local bike club and dropped in for a few group rides. They adopted me straight into there A group and told me that's where I belong. Neat. I was happy that I'd trained well and quickly achieved a high standard.
    But I was uncomfortable and this is what my post is about.
    The bike has a Selle San Marcos saddle which fits my general sit 'shape' well. But after longer rides 60 - 70 miles I had numbness in my crotch and a stinging sensation in the end of my dick. It happened a couple of times. I ignored it and it subsided.
    Then 2 weeks ago on the Sunday night WHAM !. I came down like a ton of rocks with flu like symptoms. High temp. aching muscles, sensitive skin and a pounding headache. I crawled into bed and slept well until I got up for work the next day. Peeing that morning was uncomfortable as hell and definitely not the right color. I work for myself which is partly why I am able to fit so much cycling into my schedule. But not that day. By 10 am I'd given it up and gone back to bed feeling absolutely rotten all over.
    Diagnosis:
    Acute Bacterial Prostatitis. I'd aggravated my perineum and ended up with a bacterial infection in my prostate which it's hard to begin to explain just how unpleasant it is or how sick it made me so instead of trying I'll just list the common symptoms and let you do the rest:

• chills
    • fever
    • muscular aches and pain
    • pelvic pain
    • blood in the urine
    • urinary frequency
    • painful urination