RoadBikeReview Member
    May 2013

A safe cycling route from JFK, NYC to ultimately, Scranton PA

ALOHA to all.
    I am trying to plan a safe route on bike from JFK airport, ultimately to Scranton PA. I would be grateful for any input/recommendations for any legs of this journey. ie- from JFK into Jersey or southern NY, as a launch point to PA and to ultimately get to Scranton.

Also grateful for any names of bikes shops along the way.
    I am a vet, originally from Scranton, living in HI now.. and on a mission to get back home to see the family, and at the same time enjoy the beautiful tri state area on a green-powered-2 wheeled-machine.

MAHALO
    John O'Malley (Mr Sunshine)

RoadBikeReview Member
    Jun 2004
    If you are intent on riding every inch of the way.....

You may run into issues attempting to get out of the terminal to a road within the airport that allows cycling but there are a bunch of those. Trouble is, the access roads to the terminals are not conducive to cycling and I suspect the Port Authority Police (they patrol the airports in the NYC area) would stop and write a ticket. The 2 main access roads to the terminals are the Van Wyck Expressway and the JFK Expressway. I'd be checking with the PA to determine if you can legally ride on any of the terminal access roads.

That said, if you can get as far as the North Service Road just south of the Federal Circle, you can ride thru the circle to Bergen Rd. then a right on 130 St. which loops west becoming Pan Am Blvd. Then a right on 119/Lefferts, over the Belt Parkway.

Then a choice - south along south Brooklyn or dive into Queens to Manhatten and over the GW Bridge.

Here's the S Brooklyn route:

But first, a choice depending on time of day. If rush hour, I'd ride the damned sidewalk west on N Conduit to a left on Cohancy St. If traffic is light, ride on N Conduit - a westbound 3 lane road with no shoulder and traffic doing 60. Your call. It's about 3/4 mile between Lefferts and Cohancy