Thread: Schwinn Peloton

RoadBikeReview Member
    Jun 2018

Schwinn Peloton

Hi everybody, I'm a newbie here on site and have a couple of questions for the experts and I know that there are few here. First off....how to I tell what year my Schwinn Peloton 853 is and what size is it? I just picked one up for my son and got what I think was a good deal out of Colorado for $250.00 for it. Is there a website that is dedicated to Schwinn Pelotons or any of the Scwhinn Paramounts that include the Peloton? Any help. Thanks in advance.

RoadBikeReview Member
    Quote Originally Posted by cubman View Post
    Hi everybody, I'm a newbie here on site and have a couple of questions for the experts and I know that there are few here. First off....how to I tell what year my Schwinn Peloton 853 is and what size is it? I just picked one up for my son and got what I think was a good deal out of Colorado for $250.00 for it. Is there a website that is dedicated to Schwinn Pelotons or any of the Scwhinn Paramounts that include the Peloton? Any help. Thanks in advance.
    Pelotons in 853 were around in the mid '80s. Pix would reveal more about component selection and closer estimates of year. The Peleton was the poor man's Paramount, basically.

Measure from BB spindle to top of top tube for size. Frames are measured in centimeters. Then see how the bike fits your son. A couple of months training and he'll beat you up the hills on that thing!

a real member's member
    please post a drive-side pic.

here's a good thread on the peloton 853:

Schwinn Peloton 853 questions
    Yossarian: don't worry. nothing's going to happen to you that won't happen to the rest of us.

a real member's member
    Quote Originally Posted by Fredrico View Post
    Pelotons in 853 were around in the mid '80s.
    from what i've quickly read, the '80s pelotons were columbus, not 853.

Measure from BB spindle to top of top tube for size.