Thread: Sharp Knee Pain

RoadBikeReview Member
    Jun 2011

Sharp Knee Pain

There are a few threads about this topic but none quite addresses my issue.

I'm fairly new to road biking; have done 1,734km over about three months on my road bike.

Yesterday, at km 84 of 119, I experienced a very sharp, intense pain in my knee. Probably behind my patella or just along the joint, seemingly straight through (not more on the left or the right - just all the way through).

I had been riding on flat roads almost the whole time at an average cadence of 75 or so, but never in large gears.

So I slowed it down and the pain went away. But when the next small hill came it was back, and it was bad. So I just took it really easy and kind of limped the next 35km home.

On the way home I moved my saddle up about a quarter of an inch hoping that would alleviate it but it did not.

The pain doesn't come when I stand, run, jump, or take stairs. Only when I push on the bike hard. But it was so bad I knew if I aggravated it it could be serious or long-term.

I can't figure out what caused this or more critically how to get rid of it. Any thoughts?

A few things to consider:

• Besides the seat post adjustment, over the past 3 months I I haven't changed anything on my bike
    • I have never had such pain before
    • That distance is easy for me
    • I haven't been riding much lately and have no reason to think I have overused my knee
    • It is not cold here - I'm on the equator
    • I don't stretch
    • I haven't had a proper bike fitting
    • I am 38 and am in good shape

The obvious: Go get a proper bike fitting. But that doesn't explain how this happened out of the blue.
    The Bike Race Database:
    www.meet4rides.com

RoadBikeReview Member
    Jan 2005
    Strains occur from time to time and the pain may not even be related to riding your bike, per se. Your ride may have stressed/weakened supporting muscles that were keeping this particular strain from being noticed.