Shirtcocker

SLR XP and SLR Gel FLow

I have been riding one of the original SLRs for a few years now and like it, but wondering if I'd like one of these newer models any better? Anyone have some experience with the original and one of these others? Thinking the gel might be a bit better for longer rides.
    "I regard the brain as a computer which will stop working when its components fail. There is no heaven or afterlife for broken down computers; that is a fairy story for people afraid of the dark." -S. Hawking

attaque tous le temp
    Nov 2006
    ive ridden all three.

slr, broke it, found an xp cheaper, have it now, and gel flow on the 'cross bike (at one point in time).

DONT get the gel flow. what you love about the slr shape gets ruined with the gel flow. its fine for short rides (i.e. 'cross) but for 2hour + i cant stand it

the xp - pretty much the same thing. i dont notice any more or less padding, it gets squished down after awhile. it may make your head think its softer, but imo, it offers nothing or takes away nothing. if you can find one cheaper, by all means, otherwise, stick with what ya got.

RoadBikeReview Member
    Feb 2005
    +1 I love the slr, but the xp is some kind of wicked torture device

the_rydster
    I just got an XP. It is quite 'firm', and it sure is light but for me the jury is still out as I think I need several hundred km's to break it in and find out if it truely suits me.

First impressions are good. I think if it fits your 'behind' it will be a good saddle. Soft saddles are no good in the long run.

I read somewhere that the SLR is only for 'light' riders. I weigh 75 kilos, I guess that puts me as medium (or heavy for pro-tour?).

RoadBikeReview Member
    Feb 2002

Breaking in?

Quote Originally Posted by the_rydster
    I think I need several hundred km's to break it in and find out if it truely suits me.
    You're confused. Plastic saddles don't break in. Your butt conforms to them, not the other way around.