RoadBikeReview Member
    Jan 2015

Trainer question

I have a 'dumb' fluid trainer and I really can't stand using the thing for more than an hour or so. I get so bored. With winter just over the horizon I was thinking of getting a smart trainer to use with zwift to help keep it interesting.

All I am really looking for is an interesting interactive experience to keep me riding when the weather sucks. I see the tacx vortex smart recommended a lot as a budget option. What am I compromising on vs a more expensive option? Does it matter if I am not interested in structured training and whatnot?

The Slow One.
    This is just my experience/perspective:
    I've been riding the trainer for six months out of the year, 6 days a week. Very rarely do I do anything longer than 60 to 90 minutes. I get on, do what I planned on doing, and then get the hell off. That means a lot of higher intensity workouts.

I used to ride to videos. I have the entire WCP Northern Classics collection, and I'd rotate through them a few times a season to the point where I could "sing along with Phil and Paul" at any point in a particular race.

When Zwift was in beta, I jumped on the bandwagon, and haven't watched the videos again. I keep them for the day my network dies.

I ride a dumb trainer (LeMond Revolution) with a power meter. Not having automatically-adjusted resistance doesn't really bother me. I've tried it on several smart trainers and really haven't been overwhelmed. I prefer "direct-drive" trainers for their "road feel", so when I wear out my second LeMond I might move to whatever the flavor of the month is. That should be sometime in the next decade.